Model Showcase – Rise of the Mechrons

So a little while a go, I showed you guys this little fellow:

img_1515

As you have probably seen already by the featured image, he was the herald for my newest army, the totally originally nicknamed Mechrons!

img_1562

These are the counts as Destroyers for the army, which I intend to play a large part of the list, since I have always liked Destroyers, plus it is an excuse to have lots of robo men running around. They are partially based around Thallax, since originally I was thinking about these conversions for a 30k Admech army, but that then mutated into just doing Necrons. However, they could be a little backwards compatible with some imagination…

As my brother pointed out, and was intentional, they have little influences of Gundam on them, which was the overall inspiration for the army, to have a force of big robots. The question is therefore, why didn’t I do Tau then? I think it is because I don’t really like how Tau play, and I have always had a soft spot for Necrons, combined with the idea for a converted army was too good to resist.

A regular issue for my conversions is that they might be a little too big, but I like satisfyingly sized models, which sounds like a good enough excuse to me!

img_1572

Next up are my Tomb Blade conversions, since despite Destroyers being my main focus, I cannot escape having to build at least three of these little buggers. For a unit I didn’t really have much interest in making, I am oddly fond of these models. Naturally they have Particle Beamers, and the shields represent their improved armour save.

I haven’t completely settled on a colour scheme yet, I know that I want the metal to be copper, and the glowing parts to be purple (it’s an addiction, I know), but I’m not sure what I want the ‘primary’ colour to be. Having purple in the mix makes either yellow or green a smart choice, however neither of those are particularly attractive to me. I think I need to pour over some more colour charts before I am ready to commit just yet!

img_1577

Of course there is fluff, which reflects the nature of me decided to make a Necron army in the first place, even if they aren’t really Necrons as a result.

The Xioulantior were created by Magos Xioulan during the dark days of the Horus Heresy. Liberated from the conservative rules and regulations of the Mechanicum by siding with the Traitors, Xioulan experimented with the long forbidden lore of artificial intelligence. His first generation of robots utilizing his discoveries only saw the battlefield in the closing days of the rebellion, but he continued to work on their AI whilst in hiding during the Scouring.

Fearing the loss of his knowledge should the loyalists find him, Xioulan merged his own consciousness into the operational matrices of his creations, finally granting them true sentience, at the cost of his own. Each machine, taking the collective name of Xioulantior after their father, is capable of unlocking the information and memories of the late Magos should the right circumstances trigger its release, and as such this governs the roles that they fulfill in their society. Xioulantior that remember how to craft technology research ways to improve their race, whilst to those that uncover Xioulan’s memories of warfare, the mantle of warrior falls to.

Over the 10,000 years since their creation, the Xioulantior have relentlessly developed new technologies, enabling them to travel from one end of the galaxy to the other in the blink of an eye. Wishing to avoid contact with hostile organic races, particularly the Imperium, they make their presence known only to obtain new resources to fuel their quest for knowledge, and to seize fresh creatures to convert into expendable foot soldiers, whilst the mechanical constructs the Xioulantior make for themselves carry lead them to victory.

img_1578

  But yeah, that is it for now! I don’t think I will be able to make any more in the near future, however that is probably a good thing since it will allow me to figure out what I actually want in the list! Be sure to check out my Tumblr at  renegade-girl-blog for more sporadic updates on whatever I’m working on. Thanks for attending Antagonists Anonymous!

3 thoughts on “Model Showcase – Rise of the Mechrons

Leave a Reply

