Model Showcase – Mecha Madness Double Feature Extreme!

Whoa, all those exciting words in the title must be an indicator for great stuff to come in this post, right? Well I have a couple of new mech oriented things to show you guys, so let’s get cracking, shall we?

First up is my Destroyer Lord conversion! I only realised once the waist was glued and the pose firmly decided that he is in nearly an identical position to Games Workshop’s Commander Farsight model, but I can’t blame them, it is such an attractive, dynamic one that it fitted what I was going for perfectly!

As was the inspiration for the army as a whole, this guy borrows elements from Gundams, this time the 00 Raiser Gundam (pictured on the right, as if you needed me to point that out) from Mobile Suit Gundam 00. Namely the shoulder wings, which on the 00 are in fact part of a space ship that it combines with! I was going to save the 00 design for something bigger, like a Doom Scythe conversion, however since both the Destroyer Lord and 00 Raiser are close combat monsters, it seemed most fitting to use it here.

It seems as if my Necrons have stepped through into a scale of their own, perhaps more befitting for an Inquisitor game than 40k, but size of the Lord reinforces his near monstrous creature statline I reckon. Anyway, more on this bad dude when he is painted!

Next up is yet another Gunpla kit, the Mega Shiki, so if you guys aren’t interested then I’m giving you fair warning, it’s all Gundam from here! I included some pictures as usual of it before any sort of painting or panel lining, which is especially useful for this kit since it came with practically no stickers, so I had to think quite hard about how I was going to make this bluish purple mass look more visually interesting.

And bam, just like that he is finished! I am proudest of the head actually, since if you compare the two before and after pictures of it, you’ll see that there was previously zero colour separation on it, but now it actually looks pretty good in my opinion.

For a 1/144 scale, the Mega Shiki is really tall, and combined with his giant Buzz Lightyear backpack/Flyer, he towers over most 40k models.

The articulation is really good, and is barely limited by the backpack at all! Any kit that can do the classic beam saber (or beam katana in this case) pull from the backpack like in the original series earns big bonus points in my book!

And of course that massive thing on his back does indeed serve a purpose! It can fly around by itself (which I didn’t photograph for some reason), or it can deploy a tiny handle and have the Mega Shiki hitch a lift! Unfortunately the stand I have isn’t really tall enough to properly pull that off, so I tried to make it look like they are landing. Also the flyer can transform into a sled (What!? Again not pictured because frankly I wasn’t that interested), and a giant Japanese style cannon for the Shiki to fall over with be super cool and stuff.

Although this is only my third Gunpla, I think I have really improved from the GN-X. It really is a different style of ‘painting’, and I enjoy the variety and challenge of making a functional yet pretty look kit.

If you can’t tell yet, I was having a great time posing this kit, and generally mucking around with it!

img_2075

And that’s it! Congratulations if you made it this far, but I had so much fun with the Mega Shiki I wanted to share how awesome it is, despite the fact that it was determined to be a pain in the ass during the painting process. I have a whole bunch of new Necron kits to convert, so hopefully I get some of them made up for next time! Be sure to check out my Tumblr at  renegade-girl-blog for more sporadic updates on whatever I’m working on. Thanks for attending Antagonists Anonymous!

One thought on “Model Showcase – Mecha Madness Double Feature Extreme!

  1. Nice job on that DL – the pose looks amazing! Can’t wait to see him painted up…
    I’m not qualified to comment on the Gundam, but your latest addition looks pretty damn cool to my untrained eye 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

