Model Showcase – MG Gelgoog (Char Version)

Whataddo everyone! I may have promised fresh conversions, however in a shocking turn of events I have actually started painted said conversions, so I though I’d hold off showing them until they are finished. In the mean time, I recently finished yet another Master Grade Gundam model kit, this time the Gelgoog (yes that really is it’s name)!

As per usual by now, here is the kit fully assembled pre anything. The Gelgoog has a healthy compliment of accessories, as well as a tiny car that really only makes any sense if you have seen the show, like me (smug mode: engaged).

A few more cheeky poses before work begins, and for a kit this bulky he does have quite an impressive range of motion, the only things that get restricted are the ankles underneath those enormous flares!

Like all Master Grades, there is a lovely inner frame, that really is pretty. This is the only model kit so far that has made me want to get a second one purely to display in this way, but that would be financially reckless of me, and we all know how responsible and not-spending-hundreds-of-pounds-on-a-single-conversion I am.

Piling the armour back on after top coating, and showing off Char sitting all smug in his cockpit. The kit also comes with a Lala figure, which I showed off in the painted pilots section of the previous Master Grade post, however I couldn’t be bothered to get her out of the cabinet to show.

Just like the Zaku 2, I painted the lens of the rifle by simply putting the red gem paint on the back of the clear piece, and it looks really nice. I did the same thing to the monoeye, however it is very difficult to even get a glimpse of, so I forgive you for not noticing.

And here is the big fella all put back together! I tried to be a little more restrained with the weathering than I was with the RX, and I quite like it that way. Unfortunately the top coat didn’t come out evenly, so some areas look different to others, but I can’t do anything about that, and it isn’t too bad…

I would like to take a moment to talk about how much I like the design of this mobile suit, since it really emanates the personality of it. In the show the Gelgoog is the Principality of Zeon’s (seriously how could they not be the bad guys with that name) answer to the RX-78-2 Gundam, and while the Gundam looks powerful in a refined sort of way, the Gelgoog’s design shows that it achieves this through brute force. I don’t know if that made any sense to anyone, but I adore character designs that tell the viewer about the thing they are looking at rather than just looking cool.

img_2512

One last shot to show off what I did to the shield, and I hope you guys enjoyed this latest excursion into the world of Gunpla! Regardless of whether I have finished painting next week, I promise that I will have 40k to show. Be sure to check out my Tumblr at  renegade-girl-blog for more sporadic updates on whatever I’m working on. Thanks for attending Antagonists Anonymous!

Leave a Reply

